About the Foundation Hephzibah Tintner The Fellowship Apply to the Fellowship Past Recipients Contact Us Blog
The Hephzibah Tintner Foundation
Past Recipients
To date the Hephzibah Tintner Foundation has given seven awards: two to Conductors, two to Choreographers, two to Composers and one to a Production Designer.
Aleisa Jelbart, Production Design Fellow, 2013-2015
Aleisa Jelbart is a Sydney based Production Designer, particularly interested in highly visual, movement based work. She is the recipient of the 2013-2015 Hephzibah Tintner Fellowship for Production Design and the 2016 Rockend Berlin New Music Opera Award. During 2016 Aleisa designed the costumes for Rafael Bonachela's Lux Tenebris and Anima and Sydney Dance Company's annual fundraiser night, Dance Noir. As part of the 2016 Rockend Berlin New Music Opera Award, Aleisa has spent three months at the Komische Oper Berlin, working with London based theatre company 1927 as a Design Assistant on Petrushka/ L'Enfant et les Sortilèges.
Read More
Aleisa Jelbart
James Wade, Composing Fellow, 2012- 2013
James Wade developed an interest in music comparatively late which allowed his compositions to be largely influenced by philosophical ideas and concepts from nature, rather than by other composers or genres of music. Themes relating to environment, identity, and the nature of life feature prominently in his work.
Read More
James Wade
Lisa Wilson, Choreographer, 2011
Lisa Wilson is an independent artist, with a twenty-year international career, working as director, choreographer, performer and educator. She is currently focused on pursuing her own choreographic vision to create distinctive and original performance works which layer striking visual design, powerful yet intricate physicality and a subtle humour and overall sense of the human condition.
Read More
Simon Thew, Conductor, 2009-2010
Simon Thew was awarded the 2010 Hephzibah Tintner Fellowship. Simon's fellowship year has seen him working with The Australian Ballet, Opera Australia and the Sydney Symphony. Highlights include Silver Rose, Coppelia, Halcyon, The Edge of Night, Nutcracker, the Opera Australia New Years Eve Gala, Bliss, Sonnambula, the Oz Opera Tour of La Traviata and many concert programs.
Read More
Simon Thew
Kate Neal, Composer, 2006-2007
Kate composed a new work for Ensemble Offspring which was performed in November 2006. She composed a work for the Sydney Symphony Fellows and another for Sydney Dance Company. She undertook a study tour to Germany and Holland with Heiner Geobels and Martijn Padding in August 2006. Since the Fellowship, Kate has presented new works at the Melbourne International Festival of the Arts, the Forum Theatre and the Victorian Arts Centre. She received a scholarship from the Aspen Music Festival where she premiered a new piano trio.
Read More
Kate Neal
Narelle Benjamin, Choreographer, 2005-2007
Narelle choreographed two dance films with the Sydney Dance Company: POD with filmmaker Samuel James and The Shape of Water with director Cordelia Beresford, which was screened by the ABC in March 2007. Narelle sought and received additional support for her projects from the Australian Film Commission, the ABC and Fox Studios.
Read More
Narelle Benjamin
Simon Hewett, Conductor, 2004-2005
Simon Hewett won the inaugural Hephzibah Tintner Fellowship in 2004. During his Fellowship year he conducted II Barbiere di Siviglia for Opera Australia, Swan Lake, La Fille mal Gardee and a Balanchine programme for the Australian Ballet. He also worked with Maestro Vladimir Ashkenazy during the Sydney Symphony's Sibelius season.
Read More
Simon Hewett